Serials, No Milk.

Serials. What are they? My grandmother loved the serials. Everything stopped and the world was quiet when the Bold and the Beautiful came on every afternoon.

But they aren’t the kind of serials I am talking about. I am talking about book serials, made famous by Dickens. A part of me has always known that serials must exist on the internet. Everything exists on the internet. But it wasn’t until I was looking at the sponsor page of NANOWRIMO, and saw Jukepop.com that I realized it was a big thing on the internet.

I hear your cries of, “HAVE YOU NEVER HEARD OF WATTPAD!? WHAT ROCK HAVE YOU BEEN LIVING UNDER?”

I wish I had an excuse for that. Apparently, I have been grossly lacking in my utilization of the social platforms for publishing. I guess I’ve been so busy writing books, that I didn’t even consider any alternative methods of publishing. As usual, I am behind the curve. I seem to spend my life behind the curve. But now I know that Wattpad is it’s own megalith, I am ready to jump on the bandwagon.

So, without further ado, here are the link to my Wattpad page. I’ll update with the JukePop link when my submission is approved. Here is the link to my Jukepop page.

My impression of Wattpad so far is that the whole thing is a bit overwhelming. The stats alone make me feel like I am going to drown in a sea of fanfiction. I should put this disclaimer up. I don’t write fan-fiction. Not because I look down on fanfiction, some of it is extremely well crafted. I mostly avoid FanFiction because I worry that elements of someone elses story will worm it’s way into my original manuscripts. No one needs that kind of lawsuit. However, they are welcome to half of the $4.82 I make a day through eBook sales.

Back to the stats on Wattpad. I got this off the Wattpad Blog. I give Wattpad an enthusiastic round of applause, whilst sink into a pit of despair.

With stats like that, how am I meant to get anyone to read my new story from within the 80+ million stories on Wattpad. Word of mouth. Social media bombardment, forum spelunking, annoying my friends to sign up and like my story. I should have spent more time making friends and less time reading during school. Sigh. 20/20 hindsight!

Well, if I come up with any solutions and strategies, you guys will be the first to know.

Take Care,

M x

Leave a comment